DIY Lip Balm

Hello everyone! With Christmas just around the corner, I’m still looking for those easy, DIY gifts! This week I was thinking for things I could put in a stocking. Stockings in our family are probably my favorite part. We take a lot of pride in our stocking stuffers!! I will be making the stockings this year from you guessed it! My favorite….. burlap! Hopefully, I can put the directions up for that in a couple of days.

But for today I found some really cool DIY Lip Balm. With this cool weather, my lips are always getting chapped. Yours may be too. So this batch makes 9 containers of lip balm. Who says you can’t keep one for yourself? And you can honestly say, “Yes, of course I’ve tried it! It’s wonderful!”

Things you’ll need:

  • 2 Tbsp beeswax (about 1 oz)
  • 2 Tbsp coconut oil
  • 2 Tablespoons shea butter
  • 9 lip balm containers
  • honey
  • vitamin E
  • medicine dropper

I was able to find most of the ingredients at the grocery store. The beeswax and metal containers, I found at Michael’s Craft Store. (Have I mentioned how much I love this place?) 

Directions:

1. Melt beeswax in a small pan or crock pot over low heat. Add coconut oil and shea butter until all ingredients a melted. Add a few drops essential oil if desired. I did not use any and it had a natural honey smell.

2. Using a small medicine dropper, pour the melted liquid into your lip balm containers. Add a few extra drops to the top after filling each container as the ingredients will shrink as they cool.

3. Let balm completely cool and harden.

I was thinking of ways to decorate the containers. You could tie a ribbon and bow around the top. Just be sure to add a dot of glue to keep it in place. I love monograms. If you have a steady hand, you could use Tulip paint to put the recipients monogram on top. Be sure to buy the larger size if that’s your plan. Or if your computer savvy, which I am not, you could make labels. There are some great label templates out there that you can download for free. Michael’s carries the sticker labels if you decide to go this route.

Either way, this was pretty easy and not too expensive. Some of the ingredients you may already have on hand. I always have coconut oil in the house! I’m excited about this one. It’s the perfect stocking stuffer!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Recipe found at http://www.passionatehomemaking.com

 

One thought on “DIY Lip Balm

  1. This is awesome! Danny and I are giving girly gifts to some friends and instead of buying this, I could make it!

Leave a comment